How does the Arctic differ from Antarctica and Antarctica, and what do they have in common?

Probably, most people who have finished school long ago will not be able to immediately give an answer about the difference between the Arctic, Antarctica and Antarctica - where are they located, and how are they different?

Many people doubt the main account due to the similarity of names and almost the same climatic conditions.

We can only say with confidence that there is a lot of snow, ice and icebergs both there and there.

How the Arctic, Antarctica and Antarctica are similar

To better understand how they are similar and how they differ, it is worth starting with what these places have in common.


To be more precise, this is not a similarity, but rather an opposition.

The word "Arctic" is of Greek origin. Arktos means bear. This is due to the constellations Ursa Major and Ursa Minor, by which people are guided in search of the North Star, that is, the main northern landmark.

The word "Antarctica" was coined quite recently, or rather in the twentieth century. The story of its origin is not so interesting. The fact is that "Antarctica" is a combination of the two words "anti" and "Arctic", that is, the part opposite to the Arctic, or the bear.


Perpetual snow and icebergs are the result of the harsh climate conditions. This is the second similarity of the above territories.

However, it should be noted that the similarity is not entirely complete, since the Arctic climate is still milder due to warm currents that go far enough along the northern coast of Eurasia. Here, the minimum temperature is higher than the minimum temperature in Antarctica.

How the Arctic, Antarctica and Antarctica differ

The northern polar region of our planet, which is adjacent to the North Pole.

The Arctic includes the margins of two continents - North America and Eurasia.

The Arctic includes almost the entire Arctic Ocean and many islands in it (except for the coastal islands of Norway).

The Arctic includes the adjacent parts of two oceans - the Pacific and the Atlantic.

The average temperature in the Arctic is -34 C.

The Arctic, for the most part, can be considered a frozen ocean.


This is the southern polar region of our planet. As already mentioned, its name can be translated as "opposite to the Arctic".

Antarctica includes the mainland Antarctica and the adjacent parts of the three oceans - the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian, together with the islands.

Antarctica is the most severe climatic zone on Earth. Both the mainland and nearby islands are covered with ice.

The average temperature in Antarctica is -49 C.


A continent that is located in the southernmost part of the globe.

Simply put: Antarctica and Antarctica

1. Antarctica is a continent. The area of ​​this continent is 14, 1 million square meters. km., which puts it in 5th place in terms of area among all the mainland. He overtook only Australia in this parameter. Antarctica is a deserted continent discovered by the Lazarev-Bellingshausen expedition in 1820.

2. Antarctica is a territory that includes both the mainland Antarctica itself and all the islands adjacent to this continent and the waters of three oceans - the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian. According to foreign scientists, who call the Antarctic water area the Southern Ocean, the Antarctic area is about 86 million square meters. km.

3. The relief of Antarctica is much more varied than the relief of the mainland, which is part of it.

Animals of Antarctica and Antarctica

4. The fauna of Antarctica is richer than the fauna of Antarctica. It is home to more different species of animals, including many birds (petrels, albatrosses, skuas) and several types of penguins, including the Adélie penguins and the large emperor penguins.

It is also worth noting that in the coastal waters of Antarctica you can find whales, sperm whales, killer whales, and seals.

5. In Antarctica, it is forbidden to hunt, fish and carry out any other economic activity.

Fish and several marine mammals can be caught in Antarctic waters.

Arctic and Antarctic

1. The Arctic is the extreme north of the Earth.

Antarctica is the extreme south of the Earth.

These poles are washed by different oceans, and they also have different boundaries.

2. The average temperature of the Arctic is higher than the average temperature of the Antarctic.

3. The Arctic consists of a frozen ocean. During the summer, most of this ocean thaws.

Antarctica is a continent and its ice does not melt.

4. The area of ​​the Antarctic is more than 2 times the area of ​​the Arctic.

5. People live in the Arctic (more precisely, beyond the Arctic Circle). There are approximately 4 million of them.

And in Antarctica (beyond the Antarctic Circle) there is no permanent population. If only scientists working at temporary stations.

6. Part of the Arctic is divided between the "Arctic five" - ​​Denmark, Canada, Norway, Russia and the United States.

The territory of Antarctica is not assigned to anyone.